Search

Choose language

enEnglish

Creating new and sustainable products with suppliers

The power of cooperation

Attractive new products are the best way to stay a step ahead of the competition, and to achieve your own growth  objectives. This is becoming a priority for managing directors and procurement managers across Europe, as our latest study on procurement transformation reveals, in which 185 companies took part.

The study results show that traditional tools such as sourcing and product group management, processes and policies, and supplier management currently remain at the forefront as action areas in procurement. These instruments ensure the fundamental priorities in procurement are fulfilled: ensuring a reliable supply to satisfy all the company’s needs, achieving savings, and establishing efficient
processes. However, the top executives surveyed said that, in future, they will focus on further skill areas: systematic innovation management, conscious design of procurement strategy and team culture, employee development, sustainability, and social responsibility.

As well as assuming the role of cost manager, modern buyers are increasingly taking on cross-sectional tasks for further development. The decisive factor for success is how employees understand and fulfill their own role in day-to-day business and when communicating withsuppliers.

Role of procurement under transformation

Procurement’s ability to create and implement innovation, something which is essential for the future, is the most striking change. Yet respondents cited this as one of the lower current priorities.

This development reflects these changes, as well as the perception of external innovation, and is therefore a response to the challenges that companies face in terms of growth, competitiveness, and sustainability. These issues, which respondents find themselves concerned with, call for changes to procurement. Procurement should be looking to expand its contribution to the overall organization beyond its traditional field of competence, which focuses on cost reduction, risk and a reliable supply.

As an intermediary between the internal and external supply chain, procurement is in a unique position to shape this new structure, together with the company’s specialist departments and suppliers.

Supplier as an innovation partner

Suppliers are often more innovative and more ambitious in their fields than the customers who buy their products. They know best about which products are competitive, what the underlying technologies are, and what development opportunities exist. Their customers, in turn, are in contact with end customers, and therefore know about their needs and behavior. Close cooperation on innovation is very much worth it, for both sides. But how can this work?

When seeking to involve external development partners, procurement forms a vital link to various functional areas. Close cooperation with specialist departments within the company and communication with suppliers can help procurement to create new alliances. Of course, this only works if procurement understands the needs of the specialist departments better than ever before and can also grasp the challenges for which suppliers need to develop innovative solutions.

To engage suppliers in the development process, procurement must develop cooperation even further within a performanceoriented partnership. The focus here shifts from pure negotiation, which focuses on quantities and prices, toward give and take, in which further  factors such as cooperation, open exchange, and exploring shared perspectives come to the fore. The aim is to increase performance to a level previously thought impossible, based on specifically defined expectations. That way, both sides can benefit from the new-found cooperation.

 

 

 


Cornerstones for new-and-improved procurement

Future supplier relationships will be structured around different, pre-determined type groups. After all, not every provider is a suitable
innovation partner, and not every procurement need requires such close cooperation. The strategy of tomorrow’s buyer towards their suppliers will depend much more than ever before on how important the supplier is to the company. The aim is a close development partnership with suppliers who can drive innovation forward. By contrast, procurement can implement a cost reduction strategy with suppliers of standardized components.

But if this transformation is to be successful, buyers will need to possess different skills than they do today, their managers believe. It is no surprise that the CPO study respondents said that leadership strength (50%), a willingness to work together (47%), and agility (42%) are the most important skills and ways of working. The transformation of procurement involves making the development process dynamic and agile. And equally, employees must be promoted and trained accordingly for them to keep up.

Improving transparency and sustainability

While originally a niche issue, an increasing number of customer groups are now looking to produce goods more sustainably. Fridays for Future is perhaps one of the most recognized public movements, and more and more consumers are basing their purchases on sustainability and social responsibility factors. The number of investors whose investment strategies prominently incorporate these aspects has exceeded a critical mass. Equally, it is becoming more important to take the cost of transporting resources into consideration, typically in the form of a CO2 certificate, the cost of which is already expected to rise.

Customers’ sustainability demands have changed, and many companies have realized this. Nearly 72% of those who responded to our Procurement Transformation Study said that they considered it important to include sustainability goals in their business operations. However, this is not so much the case for global supply chains, with only a handful of companies being able to trace all their primary products back to their origin.

 

A strategy for sustainability

As with other development strategies, making production more sustainable involves analyzing which sustainability criteria apply in your own supply chain. What is absolutely essential is achieving transparency throughout the chain. The United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals can be taken as a starting point, in addition to certifications and standards that are specific to your sector.

However you approach it, involving suppliers in the process is vital. Ultimately, innovation and sustainability go hand in hand, as sustainable products require new materials and methods. That is why there is so much pressure on procurement, as the department responsible for finding and evaluating new preliminary products. It is also procurement that needs to ensure that new criteria are also met. To achieve this, procurement needs to set new evaluation standards, which the team must derive from the new specifications. It also needs to investigate new procurement markets and harness the potential of new instruments, such as certificates or monitoring tools.

 

 

Conclusion 

Companies that proactively get their strategically important suppliers involved in putting innovation and sustainability into practice together can unlock competitive advantages. The key to getting to grips with this new supplier relationship is ensuring an open dialogue and freer exchange of information, forming the foundations for an effective collaboration. By developing a common definition of cooperation and innovation, you as a company and your strategic partner create value in a new product range that will meet the needs of your customers and the expectations of your stakeholders.

 

Lance Younger

is a Managing Director at INVERTO based in the UK. Through procurement transformations, digitalization projects, cost savings and  supplier management, he helps his clients secure competitiveness and increase shareholder value. Lance co-authored the Procurement Transformation Study.

lance.younger@inverto.com

Jonathan Sing 

is a project manager at INVERTO in the UK. He supports customers with cost reduction, transformation, and supplier partnerships  programs. As a member of the Procurement Management Competence Center, he co-authored the Procurement Transformation Study.

jonathan.sing@inverto.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Cologne
  • Copenhagen
  • London
  • Munich
  • Shanghai
  • Stockholm
  • Vienna

We deliver results.

Telefonnummer

+49 221 485 687 0

Suche

Sprache wählen

deDeutsch

Mit Lieferanten Neues schaffen und nachhaltig arbeiten

Aufbruch zur Kooperation

Attraktive neue Produkte sind das beste Mittel, um der Konkurrenz einen Schritt voraus zu sein und die eigenen Wachstumsziele zu erreichen. Diese Prioritäten setzen Geschäftsführer und Einkaufsleiter in ganz Europa, wie aus unserer aktuellen Studie zur Transformation des Einkaufs mit 185 beteiligten Unternehmen hervorgeht.

Als aktuelle Handlungsfelder stehen im Einkauf  – so die Studienergebnisse – klassische Instrumente im Vordergrund, wie das Sourcing und Warengruppenmanagement, Prozesse und Policies sowie das Lieferantenmanagement. Diese Instrumente gewährleisten die Erfüllung der priorisierten, grundlegenden Ziele des Einkaufs:  die zuverlässige Versorgung mit allen Bedarfen, die Realisierung von Einsparungen sowie die Etablierung effizienter Prozesse. In Zukunft stellen die befragten Top-Führungskräfte allerdings weitere Kompetenzen in den Fokus: Ein systematisches Innovationsmanagement, die bewusste Gestaltung von Einkaufsstrategie und Teamkultur, die Entwicklung von Mitarbeitern sowie Nachhaltigkeit und soziale Verantwortung.

Über die Rolle als Kostenmanager hinaus übernimmt der moderne Einkäufer damit zunehmend Querschnittsaufgaben zur Weiterentwicklung. Entscheidend für das Gelingen ist, wie die Mitarbeiter das Selbstverständnis der eigenen Rolle im Tagesgeschäft und im Kontakt mit Lieferanten umsetzen.

Die Rolle des Einkaufs im Wandel

Die für die Zukunft geforderte Kompetenz des Einkaufs zur Schaffung und Implementierung von Innovationen stellt dabei die markanteste Veränderung dar, zumal dieser Bereich laut Einschätzung der Befragten aktuell einen geringeren Stellenwert aufweist.

Diese Veränderung spiegelt die Bedeutung externer Innovation als Beitrag zu Unternehmenszielen wie Wachstum, Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit. Diese Themen, die die Befragten umtreiben, erfordern eine erweiterte Perspektive des Einkaufs. Ein Beitrag zur Unternehmensentwicklung ist gefordert, der über den traditionellen – auf Kostensenkung und zuverlässige Versorgung fokussierten – Verantwortungsbereich hinausgeht.

Als Vermittler zwischen interner und externer Supply Chain ist der Einkauf in der einzigartigen Position, die Neuausrichtung zu gestalten – gemeinsam mit Lieferanten und Fachabteilungen im Unternehmen.

Der Lieferant als Innovationspartner

Im Rahmen ihrer Kompetenzbereiche sind gute Lieferanten oft innovationsstärker und ambitionierter als die Abnehmer ihrer Produkte. Sie kennen Wettbewerbsprodukte, zugrundeliegende Technologien und Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten am besten. Ihre Auftraggeber wiederum haben Kontakt zu den Endkunden und verfügen deswegen über Informationen zu deren Bedürfnissen und Verhalten – Wissen, das Lieferanten normalerweise nicht zugänglich ist. Eine enge Zusammenarbeit bei Innovationen lohnt sich daher für beide Seiten. Doch wie kann dies funktionieren?

Zur Einbindung externer Entwicklungspartner ist der Einkauf kritisches Bindeglied verschiedener Funktionsbereiche: Durch die enge Zusammenarbeit mit den Fachabteilungen im Unternehmen und den Kontakt zum Lieferanten kann der Einkauf neue Allianzen schaffen. Das funktioniert natürlich nur, wenn der Einkauf die Belange der Fachabteilungen versteht und nachvollzieht, in welchen Bereichen innovative Lösungen seitens der Lieferanten gefordert sind.

Um Lieferanten in die eigene Entwicklungsarbeit einzubeziehen, muss der Einkauf die Lieferantenbeziehung partnerschaftlichen und performanceorientiert gestalten. Es stehen nicht mehr nur Verhandlungen von Mengen und Preisen im Fokus. Weitere Faktoren wie Kooperation, offener Austausch und konkrete Ideenbeiträge des Einkaufs gewinnen an Bedeutung. Klar definierte Erwartungen und ein Austausch auf Managementebene ermöglichen eine deutlich verbesserte Performance auf beiden Seiten. So können auch Lieferanten ihre neuen Ideen diskutieren und erfolgreich einbringen.

 

 

 


Bausteine für den „neuen“ Einkauf

Lieferantenbeziehungen werden künftig stärker entlang klar definierter Erwartungen gestaltet. Nicht jeder Anbieter eignet sich als Innovationspartner, und auch nicht jeder Bedarf muss in enger Zusammenarbeit beschafft werden. Mit Lieferanten, die Innovationen vorantreiben können, wird eine enge Entwicklungspartnerschaft angestrebt. Bei Lieferanten von standardisierten Teilen hingegen kann der Einkauf Bündelungsstrategien oder das gezielte global sourcing favorisieren.

Um diese Veränderung erfolgreich zu gestalten, stehen für den Einkauf Führungskompetenzen im Vordergrund. So verwundert es nicht, dass die Umfrageteilnehmer Führungsstärke (50 Prozent), Bereitschaft zur Zusammenarbeit (47 Prozent) und agiles Arbeiten (42 Prozent) als wichtigste Zukunftsfähigkeiten der Mitarbeiter sehen. Zur Transformation des Einkaufs gehört, den Entwicklungsprozess dynamisch und agil anzulegen. Damit die Mitarbeiter diesen Weg mitgehen können, müssen sie entsprechend gefördert und weitergebildet werden.

Transparenz und Nachhaltigkeit schaffen

Die Fridays for Future mögen am stärksten in der Öffentlichkeit stehen, doch viele Konsumenten treffen ihre Kaufentscheidungen ganz individuell nach Gesichtspunkten von Nachhaltigkeit und sozialer Verantwortung. Auch die Zahl der Investoren, die diese Aspekte maßgeblich in ihre Anlagestrategie einbeziehen, hat eine kritische Masse überschritten. Gleichzeitig wird es immer wichtiger, die Kosten des Ressourcenverbrauchs – etwa in Form von CO2-Zertifikaten – in die Betrachtung einzubeziehen, zumal schon jetzt der Preisanstieg zum Beispiel für CO2-Zertifikate vorgezeichnet ist.

Dass die Kundenbedürfnisse sich in diesem Punkt geändert haben, ist vielen Unternehmen bewusst. So geben knapp drei Viertel der Teilnehmer in unserer Procurement Transformation Studie an, dass sie die Einbindung von Nachhaltigkeitszielen in ihre Geschäftstätigkeit für wichtig erachten. Das aber ist insbesondere bei globalen Lieferketten gar nicht so einfach. Nur die wenigsten Unternehmen können alle Vorprodukte bis zu ihren Ursprüngen zurückverfolgen.

Mit Strategie zur Nachhaltigkeit

Wie bei anderen strategischen Weiterentwicklungen auch, besteht der Weg zur nachhaltigen Produktion darin, zu analysieren, welche Nachhaltigkeitskriterien in der eigenen Supply Chain existieren. Notwendige Voraussetzung ist, Transparenz über die eigene Lieferkette zu erzielen. Um konkrete Nachhaltigkeitsziele festzulegen, können die Sustainable Development Goals der Vereinten Nationen, aber auch branchenübliche Zertifizierungen und Standards Orientierung bieten.

In jedem Fall müssen die Lieferanten in die Entwicklung einbezogen werden. Letztlich sind Innovationen und mehr Nachhaltigkeit kein Widerspruch, denn nachhaltigere Produkte erfordern den Einsatz neuer Materialien und Methoden. Deswegen ist auch der Einkauf in besonderem Maße gefordert: Er ist es, der neue Vorprodukte findet und bewertet. Und er sollte kontrollieren, dass neue Kriterien auch eingehalten werden. Um dies zu leisten, braucht der Einkauf neue Bewertungsmaßstäbe, die das Team aus den geänderten Vorgaben ableiten muss. Erforderlich ist auch, Wissen über neue Beschaffungsmärkte zu erwerben und neue Werkzeuge wie Zertifikate oder Monitoring-Tools zu nutzen.

Fazit 

Unternehmen, die strategisch wichtige Lieferanten proaktiv einbinden und gemeinsam Innovationen und Nachhaltigkeit in die Tat umsetzen, schaffen Wettbewerbsvorteile. Zum Verständnis dieser Lieferantenbeziehung gehört ein offener Dialog und Informationsaustausch zur Optimierung der gemeinsamen Performance. Entwickeln Unternehmen mit dem Partner ein gemeinsames Verständnis von erfolgreicher Kooperation und Innovation, können auf dieser Grundlage Kundenbedürfnisse mit neuen Angeboten adressiert und Erwartungen der Stakeholder erfüllt werden.

 

Dr. Stefan Bennet

ist Geschäftsführer im Münchener Büro von INVERTO. Er verfügt über mehr als 20 Jahre Berufserfahrung im Bereich Einkauf und Operational Excellence. Als Experte für Einkaufstransformation entwickelt er zukunftsorientierte Einkaufsstrategien für produzierende Unternehmen.

stefan.benett@inverto.com

Jonathan Sing 

ist Project Manager bei INVERTO in London. Er unterstützt Kunden mit Programmen zur Kostenreduzierung, Transformation und Lieferantenpartnerschaft. Als Teil des Competence Center Procurement Management war er verantwortlich für die Umsetzung und Auswertung der Procurement Transformation Studie.

jonathan.sing@inverto.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Köln
  • Kopenhagen
  • London
  • München
  • Shanghai
  • Stockholm
  • Wien

We deliver results.