Search

Choose language

enEnglish
Headergrafik

Negotiation training: Procurement training for the sales function

How Skanem’s sales team learned to think like buyers

Skanem labels are seen on millions of products every day, just about everywhere, whether at home, in the office or in the grocery store. The Norwegian packaging manufacturer develops labeling solutions that help brands make their products look beautiful, share information with end consumers and protect the environment at the same time.

Objective: Build holistic expertise in the company

In an extensive project, INVERTO supported Skanem in further developing its procurement function, professionalizing processes and achieving significant savings. “In the joint project, we learned a great deal and were able to professionalize our procurement and negotiations decisively. In order for us to benefit from this as a whole company, we decided to create efficiency gains for other departments as well and extended INVERTO’s training offer to our sales team.” Maryne Lemvik, CEO of Skanem, summarizes the goal. Within four months, INVERTO set up, fine-tuned and delivered a comprehensive negotiation training with the aim of professionalizing sales negotiations and making employees more aware of how to anticipate and respond to tactics and methods in their next negotiation meetings.

Approach: Provide sales with detailed insights

To achieve this goal, the entire international sales team took part in INVERTO’s customized training program. This consisted of a total of 40 training sessions and also included all international locations, in addition to Norway also Sweden, Denmark, UK, Poland, Kenya, India and Thailand. In the first part of the training, participants learned the theoretical basics of negotiation from a procurement perspective. The second part, the so-called “learning nuggets” served to learn the actual application in practice through interactive case studies and role plays and to experience the added value of professional negotiation management.

The virtual training served to impart theoretical knowledge to the participants. In this context, the participants went through the entire negotiation process – from preparation to implementation and follow-up. The participants learned from practical examples how important thorough preparation is for the outcome of the negotiation. In the implementation part, various negotiation methods and tactics were presented, including the Harvard concept. The one-day training was rounded off with recommendations for follow-up and implementation of negotiation results.

The participants were able to derive great added value from the “learning nuggets”: by actually experiencing the content taught, they were able to reflect on their behavior in negotiations in detail and adapt it for the future. For this purpose, the sales teams met regularly for virtual sessions in small groups, each consisting of an INVERTO trainer and 4-6 sales employees from different locations. This highly interactive approach focused on applying the methods from the negotiation training to typical situations and imparting know-how on typical procurement topics such as the utilization of market trends and price indexing. In addition, the customized approach offered the opportunity to address specific problems that Skanem employees were regularly confronted with. For example, the participants were able to learn in practice how to emphasize Skanem’s quality and sustainability promise, which is highly relevant in the company, as advantages in negotiations with buyers and how to position the products in a marketoriented way.

For the participants, it was also interesting to look beyond classic negotiations with external contacts to everyday negotiations, e.g. with other departments, which they conduct in their daily work. The INVERTO experts therefore paid special attention to the topics of personality profiles and stakeholder management.

“The change of perspective has opened my eyes; in the training sessions I was confronted with situations that I have often experienced in my everyday work, but had nothing to counter them with. Now I understand the intention of my counterpart and feel better prepared.” reports one participant.

Results:

  • Personal and professional development of the participants
  • Learning how to prepare for negotiations in a targeted manner
  • Understanding the relevance of negotiation objectives
  • Application of best practice approaches to negotiation management
  • Theoretical & practical understanding of negotiation techniques, strategies & concepts
  • Strengthening of self-confidence through role plays & case studies
  • Knowledge of procedures for renegotiations

Skanem benefits from more effective negotiations across the company

  • The entire company benefits from professional negotiations: from cost savings in procurement to better conditions in customer negotiations
  • Improved internal negotiations and conflict management
  • Internationally uniform processes through inclusion of all locations

Projects

INVERTO Referenz Conto Einkaufsoptimierung Consulting

INVERTO supports COMPO EXPERT in the optimization of direct and indirect spend

How Constantia generated cash and increased liabilities within the INVERTO consulting project

Leading waste management company manages procurement risks associated with major technical projects



  • Cologne
  • Copenhagen
  • London
  • Munich
  • Shanghai
  • Stockholm
  • Vienna

We deliver results.

Telefonnummer

+49 221 485 687 0

Suche

Sprache wählen

deDeutsch
Headergrafik

Verhandlungstraining: Einkäufertrainings für den Vertrieb

Wie das Vertriebsteam von Skanem lernte, wie Einkäufer zu denken

Skanem-Etiketten sind jeden Tag auf Millionen von Produkten zu sehen, und zwar so gut wie überall, ob zu Hause, im Büro oder im Lebensmittelgeschäft. Der norwegische Verpackungshersteller entwickelt Etikettierlösungen, die Marken dabei helfen, ihre Produkte schön aussehen zu lassen, Informationen mit den Endverbrauchern zu teilen und gleichzeitig die Umwelt zu schonen.
Zielsetzung: Ganzheitliche Kompetenz im Unternehmen aufbauen

In einem umfangreichen Projekt unterstützte INVERTO Skanem dabei, die Einkaufsorganisation weiterzuentwickeln, Prozesse zu professionalisieren und erhebliche Einsparungen zu erzielen. „Im gemeinsamen Projekt haben wir sehr viel gelernt und konnten unseren Einkauf und unsere Verhandlungen entscheidend professionalisieren. Damit wir als Gesamtunternehmen hiervon profitieren können, haben wir uns entschieden, auch einen Effizienzgewinn für andere Abteilungen zu schaffen und haben das Trainingsangebot von INVERTO auf unser Vertriebsteam ausgeweitet.“ fasst Maryne Lemvik, CEO von Skanem, das Ziel zusammen. INVERTO hat innerhalb von vier Monaten ein umfassendes Verhandlungstraining aufgesetzt, abgestimmt und durchgeführt mit dem Ziel die Vertriebsverhandlungen zu professionalisieren und die Mitarbeiter zu sensibilisieren, in ihrem nächsten Verhandlungsgespräch Taktiken und Methoden besser antizipieren und darauf reagieren zu können.

Vorgehensweise: Den Vertrieb mit detaillierten Einblicken versorgen

Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, nahm das gesamte internationale Vertriebsteam an dem von INVERTO maßgeschneiderten Trainingsprogramm teil. Dieses bestand aus insgesamt 40 Trainingssessions und umfasste auch alle internationalen Standorte, neben Norwegen auch Schweden, Dänemark, UK, Polen, Kenia, Indien und Thailand. Im ersten Teil des Trainings lernten die Teilnehmer die theoretischen Verhandlungsgrundlagen aus Einkaufssicht. Der zweite Teil, die sogenannten „Learning Nuggets“ diente dazu, durch interaktive Fallstudien und Rollenspiele die tatsächliche Anwendung in der Praxis zu lernen und den Mehrwert von professioneller Verhandlungsführung zu erleben.

Das virtuelle Grundlagentraining diente dazu, den Teilnehmern theoretisches Wissen zu vermitteln. In diesem Rahmen durchliefen die Teilnehmer einmal den kompletten Verhandlungsprozess – von der Vorbereitung, über die Umsetzung bis zur Nachbereitung. Wie wichtig eine gründliche Vorbereitung für den Ausgang der Verhandlung ist, lernten die Teilnehmer an praktischen Beispielen. Im Umsetzungsteil wurden verschiedene Verhandlungsmethoden und -taktiken vorgestellt, unter anderem auch das Harvard Konzept. Abgerundet wurde das Ein-Tagestraining mit Handlungsempfehlungen zur Nachbereitung und Implementierung von Verhandlungsergebnissen.

Einen großen Mehrwert konnten die Teilnehmer aus den „Learning Nuggets“ ziehen: durch das tatsächliche Erleben der vermittelten Inhalte konnten sie ihr Verhalten in Verhandlungen detailliert reflektieren und für die Zukunft anpassen. Hierfür trafen sich die Vertriebsteams in Kleingruppen, die jeweils aus einem INVERTO Trainer und 4-6 Vertriebsmitarbeitern aus unterschiedlichen Standorten bestanden, regelmäßig für virtuelle Sessions. In diesem sehr interaktiven Konzept ging es darum, die Methoden aus dem Verhandlungstraining auf typische Situationen anzuwenden und Know-how zu typischen Einkaufsthemen wie z.B. Nutzung von Markttrends und Preisindizierung zu vermitteln. Darüber hinaus bot der maßgeschneiderte Ansatz die Möglichkeit, auf spezifische Probleme einzugehen, mit denen sich die Skanem Mitarbeiter regelmäßig konfrontiert sahen. So konnten die Teilnehmer z.B. praktisch lernen, wie sie das Qualitäts- und Nachhaltigkeitsversprechen von Skanem, welches im Unternehmen hohe Relevanz hat, in Verhandlungen gegenüber Einkäufern verstärkt als Vorteile herausstellen und die Produkte darüber marktgerecht zu positionieren.

Für die Teilnehmer war es außerdem spannend, den Blick über klassische Verhandlungen mit externen Ansprechpartnern hinaus auch auf alltägliche Verhandlungen zu werfen, z.B. mit anderen Abteilungen, die sie in ihrem Arbeitsalltag führen. Ein besonderes Augenmerk der INVERTO Experten lag daher auch auf den Themen Persönlichkeitsprofile und Stakeholdermanagement.

„Der Perspektivwechsel hat mir die Augen geöffnet, in den Trainings wurde ich mit Situationen konfrontiert, die ich in meinem Arbeitsalltag schon öfter erlebt habe, denen ich aber oft nichts entgegenzusetzen hatte. Jetzt verstehe ich, welchen Zweck mein Gegenüber damit verfolgt und fühle mich besser gewappnet.“ berichtet ein Teilnehmer.

Ergebnisse:

  • Persönliche und professionelle Weiterentwicklung der Teilnehmer
  • Erlernen einer zielgerichteten Verhandlungsvorbereitung
  • Verständnis für die Relevanz von Verhandlungszielen
  • Anwendung von Best-Practice-Ansätzen zur Verhandlungsführung
  • Theoretische & praktische Verinnerlichung von Verhandlungstechniken, Strategien & Konzepten
  • Stärkung des Selbstvertrauens durch Rollenspiele & Fallstudien (inkl. Videoanalyse)
  • Kennenlernen von Vorgehensweisen für Nachverhandlungen

Skanem profitiert unternehmensweit von effektiveren Verhandlungen

  • Das gesamte Unternehmen profitiert von professionellen Verhandlungen: von Kosteneinsparungen im Einkauf bis zu besseren Konditionen in Kundengesprächen
  • Verbesserte interne Verhandlungen und Konfliktbewältigung
  • International einheitliche Prozesse durch Einbeziehung aller Standorte

Projekte

INVERTO Referenz Conto Einkaufsoptimierung Consulting

INVERTO unterstützt COMPO EXPERT bei der Optimierung des Direct und Indirect Spend.

Wie Constantia Flexibles mit INVERTO gezielt Cash generierte und die Verbindlichkeiten erhöhte

Technisches Großprojekt: Führendes Entsorgungsunternehmen setzt auf externes Interimsmanagement



  • Köln
  • Kopenhagen
  • London
  • München
  • Shanghai
  • Stockholm
  • Wien

We deliver results.